*Whistle Note*

*Whistle Note*
(2007)

It's so windy and every time the house whirrs or feels pushed it makes my stomach twist. My cat, Willow is just as skittish as me. I should not have been shown the movie 'Twister' at 6 years old. The feature photo here is my old driveway meeting the neighbours yard meeting Canting Street. I lived there from 2002-2010, age 10-19. The longest home I had and still have lived in the longest. Over time I documented my suburban view (NYE 06/07 I stayed up to watch the sunrise and captured it via time lapse with my kodak camera on a tripod.) I watched 'Romeo and Juliet' (another 1996 classic) that night to pass the time and still think of that night when I swoon to I'm Kissing You.

Window Bird (2005)

I took this one with a film camera (a Practica!) with a long lens. That roll of film came out immaculate. I was 14, and I had these gorgeous, really minimal photos of my life that felt boring at the time, but the lenses I used had really low aperture and it gave this beauuutiful blur. I was able to turn mundane objects and moments in my suburban life and give it this dreamy new life. A close up of the white sheet my Dad would put down on the carpet when painting the walls, the lighting fixture above the dining table we rarely used, a little spider on a single silk thread.

The archives I'm currently going through were pulled from a photobucket account (who among us remembers pls speak) that I was able to jangle my way into by unearthing my old hotmail account. There were multiple photobuckets. I have not been able to unearth a lot of my old favourites, including the rest of this roll. From 2005-2008 I posted these photos onto Livejournal and talked about my world. I've recently happened upon it - I genuinely thought I had deleted everything (and am so glad I didn't). Livejournal was the shit. It's wild how long I've been (over)sharing on the internet for almost 20 years! That's fucked up. I'm 32 and turn 33 in October but I don't feel like an age. I think I'm just some sentient being that floated down from a giant egg in the sky.

Affectionately,

Alyson

💡
If you enjoyed this email, please forward to a pal or two!